life of b | every day

random things that happen in my life

Together for 1477 days

It takes a lot of effort for relationships to work. Sometimes, it feels like the longer the relationship, the more effort you’ll need to make to sustain it. 

For those of you who know me personally or have followed my blog for quite some time, you would know that my DB Vic and I had been together as a couple for 4 years now but we have been best friends for the past 18 years. 

  
Yesterday was our 1477 days together as a couple. DB took me to the wonderful Schnitzel Bar for dinner as I’ve been unwell  for the past few days. The food was absolutely splendid and as was the company. 

 
I would pretend and say we don’t extensively celebrate any of the “special occasions" but then that would be an absolute lie and unfair statement as my DB is really the biggest sweetheart when it comes to special occasions. However, the notion of making an effort in a relationship does not simply end at special occasions. 

Sometimes I find myself thinking, what could I do to show this man how much I love him, and how grateful I am to have him in my life? How could I show him how I feel but not smother him or cause him stress due to my paramount love or let him take me for granted because he knows of it? A lot of you will think, my gosh she thinks a lot. Maybe she just needs to stop thinking and do. Which trust me, I do. (See what I just did there?)

Like other couples, we fight over silly things (probably more so than others), have our own way of communicating without others understanding and silliest of all, is super comfortable with each other. 

So how do we appreciate this comfort and embrace it yet maintain the appropriate level of effort to sustain a healthy relationship?

Let me know if you think you have the answer because I’m still trying to find it. In the meanwhile, best of luck to everyone else out there trying to figure it out like us, and happy four years to my DB. 

  

發表留言

Information

This entry was posted on 10/09/2015 by in Uncategorized.

導覽